cathedral

It’s been a while 🙂

 

All I want to be is a far far cry from who I am.

The bottom stanza’s lines are meant to be read above-below, above-below… re-read for a varying meaning, but still accurate.

cathedrals

days:

slow and steady

long walks 

flowering cactuses of May

too beautiful and tiring

sitting in the S. Concho

mid-summer’s day

people:

lively faces of my family

handsomest face of my love

familiar smiles of friends

 

 seen:

Europe’s thousand year old cathedrals

how lovely and how empty

only a memoir of the fervent faith

once captivating nations

beautiful, but hauntingly tragic,

castles and palaces,

Rome, Paris, Barcelona,

Amsterdam’s canals,

Tuscany’s Vineyards,

 

all beauty:

all adventure

all but a shadow

compared to the grace

God still shows me

many things

I don’t understand

His grace

I am more shaken by

every year of life

though I trample and ruin,

squander, disgrace, 

run away from,

He has never changed

His mind.

I pray our souls

to be more

than a beautiful memoir.rome

65E72FF3-AF48-43D1-BDA9-33459B66D88AIMG_3892.JPGIMG_3961.JPG

Leave a comment